LATEST NEWS

Exemption from Tax on offices in Ile-de-France

20 OCTOBER 2017

Exemption from Tax on Offices (Taxe Sur les Bureaux, TSB)  in the Ile-de-France region for premises specially equipped for educational activities: the way is now open for claims for rebates!   

Under the terms of article 231 ter V-2° of the French Tax Code ("FTC"), premises that are specially equipped for educational activities are exempt from TSB.

In the absence of a precise definition in the law as it stands, the tax administration has simply sketched the outlines of “premises specifically equipped for educational activities”, holding that the rules only apply to educational premises with “substantial” facilities that would prevent any other activity. As such facilities are rarely needed in practice, this approach would exclude the vast majority of classrooms, study areas, etc. from the exemption.

In a recent case the French Conseil d’Etat has questioned the administration’s restrictive approach1. This welcome decision seems to mark a reversal of the legal view that previously upheld the tax administration’s questionable interpretation.

A priority preliminary ruling (“QPC”) on the compatibility of article 231 ter V-2° FTC with the French Constitution was then submitted by the French Conseil d’Etat to the Conseil Constitutionnel2, which established an exemption from TSB for administrative premises of private establishments under contract to the State, but not for private establishments without such contracts.

This exciting legal news opens up opportunities to challenge assessments for all persons subject to TSB who own premises covered by article 231 ter V-2° FTC (TSB paid in 2015, 2016 and 2017).

What are the educational premises exempted from TSB?

The wording of the law

The following are exempted by article 231 ter V-2° FTC: “Premises and parking areas owned by foundations and associations that are of recognised public utility and upon which they perform their activity, as well as premises specifically equipped for administrative archiving and for the performance of activities of a research or health, social, educational or cultural nature.”

Restrictive approach of the tax authorities and the courts

According to the comments of the French Tax Authorities (FTA) published in the Official Tax Bulletin (§ 400, BOI-IF-AUT-50-10), only the following premises may be regarded as “specifically equipped”: “…where the design itself is only suitable for one of these activities or, failing this, premises that have been substantially modified to this effect or that are furnished with fixed apparatus such that they are unfit or unsuitable for any other use.”

These conditions do not appear in the wording of article 231 ter V-2° FTC.

This approach has de facto meant that the vast majority of classrooms that could be used for administrative office activities without the need for major conversion works are not exempt from TSB.

The reasoning of the FTA was until very recently upheld in its entirety by the administrative courts dealing with the merits of such cases, as well as by the French Conseil d’Etat3.

Questioning of the restrictive approach

Classrooms should be able to benefit from the exemption from TSB without having to establish the “substantial” nature of the equipment provided or the existence of any “fixed apparatus”. More generally, the tax authorities should not be able to use their doctrine to deny the TSB exemption to premises that would, on account of their design, be unsuitable for educational activities.

It is in this sense that the French Conseil d’Etat held as follows on 11 October 2017: “The court had ruled that the premises for which the applicant was seeking exemption under article 231 ter V-2° of the French Tax Code for premises specifically designed for educational activities were of a modular nature and were therefore by design not solely suitable for this purpose; it then concluded that the premises could not benefit from exemption. It follows from the remarks in paragraph 2 that, in its judgment, the court had made the benefit of the exemption at issue subject to a condition that was not present in article 231 of the French Tax Code, and had thus committed an error of law. As a result, and without it being necessary to rule on the other aspects of the appeal, the applicant is entitled to seek the overturning of the decision it is challenging.”

Note that, in this case, the premises had been exclusively dedicated to teaching activity for over 10 years.

Although the comments of the tax authorities have not been overturned by this decision, they seem to have been undermined. It remains to be seen what will be the new scale of assessment for equipment used by the courts ruling on the merits.

A consistent application of the ruling by the French Conseil d’Etat and the legal wording, which simply refers to “specifically equipped premises”, requires in our view that the TSB exemption should apply to premises equipped with “simple” facilities (e.g. wall charts, podiums, laboratory benches, overhead projectors, etc.), and therefore to the vast majority of classrooms. We hope that the courts ruling on the merits will also move to a broad interpretation of this condition. For evidentiary purposes, it is suggested that those taxpayers wishing to take action should instruct a court process server to draw up a room-by-room inventory of the facilities present on their premises.

Other grounds for exemption

In some cases, the owners of premises allocated to educational activities may invoke exemption from TSB under article 231 ter V-3° of the FTC applicable to commercial premises whose total surface area is less than 2500 m2.

For the purposes of TSB, the term “commercial premises” refers in particular to premises in which commercial services are provided and to which the public usually has access. While the Paris Administrative Court ruled on 15 January 2015 that a teaching activity cannot be regarded as a commercial activity within the meaning of section 231 ter V-3° of the FTC, on 22 September 2015 it also held that where premises are occupied by a company, with access to the public to whom training is provided, these should be considered as commercial premises and, where appropriate, exempted from TSB if their total surface area is less than 2500 m2. While seemingly contradictory, we understand that these two decisions actually distinguish between educational establishments (a non-commercial activity pursuant to article 231 ter V-3° FTC) and continuous vocational training establishments (a commercial activity pursuant to article 231 ter V-3° FTC).

As a result, the premises of establishments that offer short seminars, bespoke training and courses for the certification of professionals and businesses should benefit from the exemption under article 231 ter V-3° FTC if their total surface area is less than 2500 m2.

What can be expected of the question submitted to the French Conseil Constitutionnel?

Under the terms of article 231 ter V-2° bis FTC, the administrative offices of primary and secondary public educational establishments and private establishments under contract to the State pursuant to articles L. 442-5 and L. 442-12 of the Education Code are also exempt from TSB. Premises occupied by private establishments without such contracts remain taxable.

This provision thus exempts all surface areas of premises occupied by establishments under contract: it was the object of a QPC submitted on 4 October 2017 by the Conseil d’Etat to the French Conseil Constitionnel4.

In this case, the applicant, an SCI, argued that article 231 ter V-2° bis FTC disregards the principle of equality before the law and the principle of equality before public burdens arising from articles 6 and 13 of the 1789 Declaration of the Rights of Man and of the Citizen. The distinction between private establishments according to whether or not they have entered into a contract with the State could not be justified by any reason of general interest in relation to the object of the law, nor was it based upon any objective or rational criterion in relation to the intended aim of the legislation.

While the French Conseil Constitutionnel has criticised the wording of the law, it is difficult to know whether its scope will now be extended to private establishments without contracts, or if private establishments under contract will be excluded from the exemption. It should also be borne in mind that the French Conseil Constitionnel often limits the effect of its decisions to those taxation disputes occurring before the publication of such decisions. 

These decisions open the way for all owners concerned to apply for a rebate of TSB. As leases often provide for the rebilling of TSB, it is in the interest of tenants to invite owners to apply.

In order to uphold their rights to a rebate, owners should make their claims now, and at the latest by 31 December 2017 for TSB paid in 2015.

The Conseil d’Etat’s decision of 11 October 2017 may also be invoked in adjustment proceedings and pending actions.

   

From Pierre Appremont & Yacine Bousraf

 

1. French Conseil d'Etat (CE), 9th and 10th chambers sitting jointly, 11/10/2017, 392999. 

2. CE, 8th chambre, 04/10/2017, 412381. 

3. CE, 10th chamber, 19/07/2017, 405377; Paris CoA, 25/06/2016, no. 14PA02491; Paris AC, 16/12/2016, no. 1607754/2-1; Paris AC, 21/01/2015, no. 1406237; Paris AC, 8/10/2009, no. 701959.

4. CE, 8th chamber, 04/10/2017, 412381.

ACTUALITÉS

Exonération de Taxe Sur les Bureaux en IDF...

Le 20 OCTOBRE 2017

Exonération de Taxe Sur les Bureaux en Ile-de-France (TSB) en faveur des locaux spécialement aménagés pour l'exercice d'activités à caractère éducatif : des opportunités contentieuses sont ouvertes !   

Les locaux spécialement aménagés pour l'exercice d'activités à caractère éducatif bénéficient d’une exonération de TSB prévue à l’article 231 ter V-2° du Code général des impôts (« CGI »).

En l’absence de précision du législateur, l’Administration fiscale a seule tracé les contours de la notion de « locaux d’enseignement spécialement aménagés ». Selon elle, seuls les locaux d'enseignement dotés d'aménagements "lourds" rendant toute autre activité impossible, sont visés. De tels aménagement étant rarement nécessaires en pratique, son approche conduit à exclure la grande majorité des salles de cours, d'études... du champ d'application de l'exonération. 

Dans une affaire récente, le Conseil d’Etat vient de remettre en cause l’approche restrictive de l’Administration1. Bienvenue, cette décision semble marquer un revirement de la jurisprudence qui se rangeait jusqu’à présent derrière l’interprétation contestable de l’Administration fiscale.

Enfin, une QPC relative à la conformité de l’article 231 ter-V-2° bis du CGI à la Constitution vient d’être transmise par le Conseil d’Etat au Conseil Constitutionnel2. Ce dernier établit une exonération de TSB applicable aux locaux administratifs des établissements privés sous contrat avec l’Etat au détriment des établissements privés hors contrat. 

Cette actualité jurisprudentielle riche ouvre des opportunités contentieuses pour tous les redevables de la TSB, propriétaires de locaux visés à l’article 231 ter V-2° du CGI (TSB payée en 2015, 2016 et 2017).

Quels sont les locaux d’enseignement exonérés de TSB ?

Le texte

Sont exonérés de TSB par application de l’article 231 ter V-2° du CGI :

« Les locaux et les surfaces de stationnement appartenant aux fondations et aux associations, reconnues d'utilité publique, dans lesquels elles exercent leur activité, ainsi que les locaux spécialement aménagés pour l'archivage administratif et pour l'exercice d'activités de recherche ou à caractère sanitaire, social, éducatif ou culturel ».

Approche restrictive de l’Administration fiscale et des juges

Selon les commentaires administratifs publiés au § 400 du BOI-IF-AUT-50-10, seuls peuvent être considérés comme « spécialement aménagés », les locaux : « dont la conception même n'est adaptée qu'à l'une de ces activités ou, à défaut, qui ont fait l'objet d'aménagements substantiels à cet effet ou sont munis d'un appareillage fixe qui les rendent impropres ou inadaptés à un autre usage ».

Ces conditions sont introuvables dans la lettre de l’article 231 ter V-2° du CGI.

Cette approche conduit de facto à exclure de l'exonération de TSB la grande majorité des salles de cours qui peuvent être affectées à des activités administratives de bureaux sans subir de transformation profonde. 

Le raisonnement de l'Administration fiscale était, jusqu'à très récemment, globalement suivi par les juridictions administratives du fond ainsi que par le Conseil d'Etat3

Remise en cause de l’approche restrictive

Les salles de cours doivent pouvoir bénéficier de l’exonération de TSB sans qu’il y ait lieu de rechercher le caractère « substantiel » des aménagements dont elles jouissent ou l’existence d’ « appareillage fixe » dont elles disposeraient. Plus généralement, l’Administration fiscale ne saurait invoquer sa doctrine pour écarter l’exonération de TSB aux locaux qui ne seraient pas adaptés, de par leur conception même, à l’exercice d’une activité éducative.  

C’est en ce sens que s’est prononcé le Conseil d’Etat dans sa décision du 11 octobre 2017 :

« la cour a relevé que les locaux pour lesquels la requérante sollicitait l’application de l’exonération prévue au 2° du V de l’article 231 ter du code général des impôts en faveur des locaux spécialement aménagés pour l’exercice d’activités à caractère éducatif présentaient un caractère modulable et n’étaient donc pas exclusivement adaptés, de par leur conception même, à cet exercice, puis en a déduit qu’ils ne pouvaient bénéficier de cette exonération. Il résulte de ce qui a été dit au point 2 qu’en jugeant ainsi, la cour a subordonné le bénéfice de l’exonération en litige à une condition non prévue par l’article 231 ter du code général des impôts et, ainsi, commis une erreur de droit. Par suite, et sans qu’il soit besoin de statuer sur les autres moyens du pourvoi, la requérante est fondée à demander l’annulation de l’arrêt qu’elle attaque ».

A noter qu’en l’espèce, les locaux sont exclusivement dédiés à une activité d’enseignement depuis plus de 10 ans.

Bien que les commentaires administratifs n’aient pas été annulés par cette décision, ils semblent être remis en cause. Il reste toutefois à savoir quelle sera la nouvelle grille d’appréciation des aménagements que les juridictions du fond retiendront.

Une application cohérente de la décision du Conseil d’Etat et du texte, qui vise simplement les « locaux spécialement aménagés », commande selon nous d’appliquer l’exonération de TSB aux locaux pourvus de « simples » équipements mobiliers (tableaux muraux, estrades, paillasses de laboratoire, tables et chaises de travail…) et dès lors, à la grande majorité des salles de cours. Espérons que les juges du fonds retiennent également une interprétation large de cette condition. Sur le terrain probatoire, les contribuables diligents sont invités à faire dresser des constats d’huissier détaillant, pièce par pièce, les aménagements dont disposent leurs locaux.

Autres fondements d’exonération

Les propriétaires de locaux affectés à des activités à caractère éducatif peuvent, dans certains cas, invoquer le bénéfice de l’exonération de TSB prévue à l’article 231 ter V- 3° du CGI et applicable aux locaux commerciaux dont la surface totale est inférieure à 2500 m2.

En matière de TSB, les locaux commerciaux s’entendent notamment de ceux au sein desquels est exercée une activité de prestation de services commerciale et auxquels le public a normalement accès. Si le tribunal administratif de Paris a précisé dans un jugement du 15 janvier 2015 qu’une activité d’enseignement ne peut pas être regardée comme une activité commerciale au sens de l’article 231 ter V- 3° du CGI, il a également jugé le 22 septembre 2015 que des locaux occupés par une société qui y reçoit du public à qui elle dispense des formations, doivent être considérés comme des locaux commerciaux et, le cas échéant, exonérés de TSB si leur surface totale est inférieure à 2500 m2. En apparence contradictoire, nous comprenons que ces 2 décisions opèrent en fait une distinction entre les établissements d’enseignement (activité non commerciale au sens de l’article 231 ter V- 3° du CGI) et les établissements de formation professionnelle continue (activité commerciale au sens de l’article 231 ter V- 3° du CGI). 

En conséquence, les locaux des établissements proposant notamment des séminaires courts, des formations sur-mesure, ainsi que des cycles certifiant aux professionnels et entreprises doivent pouvoir bénéficier de l’exonération prévue à l’article 231 ter V- 3° du CGI dès lors que leur surface totale est inférieure à 2500 m2.

Qu’attendre de la QPC transmise au Conseil Constitutionnel ?

Aux termes de l’article 231 ter-V-2° bis du CGI, les locaux administratifs des établissements publics d'enseignement du premier et du second degré et des établissements privés sous contrat avec l'Etat au titre des articles L. 442-5 et L. 442-12 du code de l'éducation sont également exonérés de TSB. Les locaux occupés par des établissements privés hors contrat restent imposables.

Ce dispositif, revient à exonérer la totalité des surfaces des locaux occupés par les établissements sous contrat et, a fait l’objet d’une QPC renvoyée le 4 octobre 2017 par le Conseil d’Etat au Conseil Constitutionnel4.

Dans cette affaire la SCI requérante soutient que l’article 231 ter-V-2° bis du CGI méconnait le principe d’égalité devant la loi et le principe d’égalité devant les charges publiques résultant des articles 6 et 13 de la Déclaration des Droits de l’Homme et du Citoyen de 1789. La distinction entre les établissements privés selon qu’ils ont ou non conclu un contrat avec l’Etat ne serait justifiée par aucune raison d’intérêt général en rapport avec l’objet de la loi, ni fondée sur un critère objectif et rationnel en rapport avec le but poursuivi par le législateur.

Si le Conseil Constitutionnel venait à censurer le texte, il est difficilement possible de prévoir si son champ d’application serait élargi aux établissements privés hors contrat ou si les établissements privés sous contrat seraient écartés de l’exonération. Il convient, par ailleurs, de garder à l’esprit que le Conseil Constitutionnel limite souvent l’effet de ses décisions aux impositions contestées avant la publication de sa décision.

Ces décisions ouvrent l’opportunité à tous les propriétaires concernés de solliciter des restitutions de TSB. Les baux prévoyant très souvent la refacturation de la TSB, les locataires pourront utilement les y inviter.

Afin de préserver leurs droits à restitution, le spropriétaires ont intérêt à déposer dès à présent leur réclamation contentieuse, et, au plus tard, avant le 31 décembre 2017 pour la TSB payée en 2015.

La décision du Conseil d’Etat du 11 octobre 2017 pourrait également être invoquée dans les procédures de rectification et les instances en cours.  

A lire également sur le site de l’EFE

 

De Pierre Appremont et Yacine Bousraf

 

1. CE, 9ème et 10ème chambres réunies, 11/10/2017, 392999. 

2. CE, 8ème chambre, 04/10/2017, 412381. 

3. CE, 10ème chambre, 19/07/2017, 405377 ; CAA de Paris, 25/06/2016, n°14PA02491 ; TA de Paris, 16/12/2016, n°1607754/2-1 ; TA de Paris, 21/01/2015, n°1406237 ; TA de Paris, 8/10/2009, n°701959. 

4. CE, 8ème chambre, 04/10/2017, 412381.